

Hurstville Council

## OATLEY HERITAGE & HISTORICAL SOCIETY

P.O. Box 121, Oatley NSW 2223

http://www.oatleyhistory.org.au



Kogarah Council

<u>2019</u>- <u>President</u> - Julian Sheen 9594-4888: <u>Secretary</u> - Bill Wright 9580-1064 OATLEY HERITAGE AND HISTORICAL SOCIETY

22nd February 2019.

Annual General Meeting.

Julian Sheen opened the AGM at 10.07 am, with 48 members & visitors in attendance. Welcome to all in attendance with a special welcome to any visitors, including Mark Coure our Local Member who is here to present a cheque representing a State Grant.

Apologies: P Donnet, P. Connor, J. Douglas, D. Crawford, D. Coleman, B, Keats & J. Bennett

Mark Coure then made a brief presentation of a cheque of \$2000 being a grant for plaques & promotional material. Thank you Mark.

Minutes of 2018 AGM. Minutes of the previous meeting were read.

A motion was put forward to approve the minutes W. Wright, Sec G. Murphy, Passed.

Reports: Secretaries report was read by W. Wright. Treasurers report was read by G. Ingram. Presidents report was read by J. Sheen.

## Election of Office-bearers & Committee for 2019.

The President reported that only nominations for executive & committee positions received by closing date for nominations, were those for most (all except one) existing office-holders, in respect of positions they have held in 2018. In accordance with the Society's constitution those nominees were declared elected for 2019.

The President reported that Evan Roberts had decided not to accept re-nomination for Committee, leaving a resulting vacancy on the Committee. The President thanked Evan for his contribution, and said he was confident Evan would continue to be a help in many ways, and called for nominations from the floor to fill the resulting vacancy.

The only nomination was that of Carol Harland, nominated by Cliff Crane. Seconded W. Wright. Passed, Carol was declared elected as a Committee Member

Make-up of the elected office-bearers & committee for 2019 therefore is-

Pres. J. Sheen,V. Pres's. C. Crane & L. YeomansSec. W. Wright.Treas. G. Ingram.Comm. P. Donnet, G. Murphy, R. Robertson, Kim Wagstaff, G. Lalchere,L. Westfallen, N. Windred & C. Harland.

The Public Officer's position will be filled by G. Lalchere.

President Julian thanked the continuing committee & welcomed out new committee member Carol Harland, and spoke of the good feeling now apparent in the Society, which augured well for the future.

A brief period of general business followed-

The President reported that the Society Secretary Bill Wright has been nominated for a Banks Electorate Community Award" and

C. Crane also introduced new members Angelina "Angie" Sheinwald, Bob Drake & John Simmons, all attending their first meeting. He also introduced Ron & Julie Bell, many years a resident in Oatley, but now "of the shire". Cliff then presented a completed nomination for membership by Ron & Julie, & moved that the application be approved. The motion was seconded by Evan Roberts, & the meeting approved the membership followed by acclamation.

The AGM was concluded at 10.35am and the President called a five minute break before the presentation meeting.

Julian Sheen then gave his presentation address about the events affecting Oatley & its people in 1918, taken from newspaper articles of the time.

A warm round of applause followed the conclusion of his presentation at 11.20 & Vice President Cliff Crane thanked Julian for a specially good presentation & even warmer acclamation ended a most successful AGM & presentation.

Footnote; The membership sub-committee at the conclusion of the AGM approved an application for membership by Sandra Wootton (nee Yates) who, unannounced, had also attended the meeting.

Bill Wright Secretary